Ocean’s Daughter

Ocean's DaughterOcean’s Daughter by Lisa Barton
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Ocean’s Daughter is a coming of age story about a girl named Octina, whose father hails from the legendary land of Atlantis. She only learned of this fact when the airplane she was travelling in crashed over the underwater city. Imagine her shock when she didn’t drown at the bottom of the sea. The book takes us through her experiences, some of which are very dark.

I would like to start off by stating that I received this free through NetGalley for an honest review. I wanted so very much to like this book as I have always been in love with the idea of Atlantis and mermaids as well as Greek and Roman mythology. I’m sorry to say that this book disturbed me on several levels. Firstly, there was quite a bit of underage sex, although thankfully not detailed. Second, there was incest. Third, there was teen pregnancy and talk of abortion. Last, and most disturbingly, there was rape. It is for these very reasons that I did not like this book and cannot in good conscience recommend it. I would also like to add that there should be a disclaimer about the rape in the synopsis. Even though it was brief, just reading scenes of this type can trigger flashbacks in the victims of sexual assault.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

