Cast in Angelfire

Cast in Angelfire (Mage Craft, #1)Cast in Angelfire by S.M. Reine
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Cast in Angelfire is a paranormal/fantasy style novel that takes place in a future post-apocalyptic world, one in which creatures of folklore have come into being along with those that already existed. Angels, mortals, werewolves, sidhe, witches, etc all clash for power. The main character Marion (a half-angel) is attacked and then vanishes only to wake up some weeks later in a hospital with no memory of anything prior. To add insult to injury, assassins show up to kill her but a mysterious doctor by the name of Luke is hell-bent on protecting her with deadly force if necessary. Not to mention, every time she touches the good doctor, she regains bits and pieces of herself, but he is adamant that they should not touch. Can she ever hope to regain her memories before she becomes merely a memory herself? And whom – if anyone – can she trust?

I would first like to state that I received this through NetGalley for an honest review. This was a bit of a slow starter for me. Once I got about a third of the way in, however, it all fell into place and I found myself rather enjoying this story. Character depth was good, suspense was top notch, and when it ended I was sitting there stunned and thinking “WHAT? It’s over? No!” for a moment before I remembered it is going to be a series. I have a feeling the next book will be even better. Give it a chance, I don’t think you will be disappointed.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

