Desolate

Desolate (Immortal Rose Trilogy, #1)Desolate by Amy Miles
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Desolate is a dark paranormal fantasy novel. The main character, Rosaline, is sold off in marriage to the highest bidder by her father. On her wedding night, she awakens to find her family slaughtered and herself a vampire, compliments of her newly wedded husband. In his care, she finds a new meaning of horror. The other vampires within her husband’s coven are every bit as cruel and sadistic as their master, seeking to torture her at every opportunity. The only solace she has found is in the brief encounters she has with the mysterious Fane. But can she really trust him? And can she ever hope to become strong enough to fight back?

I would first like to state that I received this free through NetGalley for an honest review. The themes in this story are very dark and mature. It is full of graphic violence and rape; these dominate the majority of the story. I really had trouble finishing it, but I muddled on through. Once the character of Fane was introduced, the plot really took off and finally there was actual substance to the tale other than brutality. It is for this reason that I gave it three stars instead of the two I would have otherwise. While I cannot say that I enjoyed this story, I can say that I recognized the author’s talent for the written word and her ability to trigger an emotional response within the reader.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

