Blood Instinct

Blood Instinct (Blackthorn, #6)Blood Instinct by Lindsay J. Pryor
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Blood Instinct is a paranormal romance, taking place in a futuristic society where lycans and vampires are treated as lesser citizens. The main character, Sophia – a human, has fallen for a lycan pack leader by the name of Jask. It’s a time of great unrest between the segregated species. People are being played like pawns on a chessboard, all in order to try and circumvent a prophecy in differing ways. All the while, Sophia is fighting to maintain control of herself as she is being morphed by her newly acquired serryn (vampire killer) powers which are threatening to tear her and Jask apart. Can they ever hope to survive when it seems that fate has stacked the odds so completely against them?

I would first like to state that I received this free through NetGalley for an honest review. That being said, I am sorry to say that this was an incredibly slow starter for me. The world building wasn’t quite what I was hoping it would be from the synopsis. Despite my misgivings, I forced myself to keep reading as I owed it to the story to give it a fighting chance. I am very glad I was able to finish it. Approximately 200 pages in, the pace really picked up and the storyline blossomed – after which I found myself enjoying the tale. In addition, the author has thankfully weaved in enough detail from previous books to ensure that readers new to the series are not completely lost. It is for these reasons that instead of my initial rating of 2, I must change it to 3.5 stars. I do hope to see the faster pace continued on in the sequel as it has great potential.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

