The Shadowed Path

The Shadowed Path: A Jonmarc Vanhanian CollectionThe Shadowed Path: A Jonmarc Vanhanian Collection by Gail Z. Martin
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The Shadowed Path is an action-packed fantasy/adventure chronicling the early years of a young blacksmith in training by the name of Jonmarc Vahanian. We get to see him lose everything time and again, seemingly to a curse. Fed up, the young man joins a traveling carnival of sorts and learns to properly wield a blade along the way. In the end, his dream is to make it across the continent to the bustling city of Principality to become a mercenary. The problem is, danger lurks around every corner along the way threatening to destroy both him and those he has come to respect. Can he make it there in one piece before the curse rears its ugly head yet again?

I would first like to state that I received this free through NetGalley for an honest review. This book has it all – action, magic, shapeshifters, undead, demons, and more! The plot was rife with ambushes, strange happenings, and crazy twists and turns that keep the reader at the edge of their seat wondering what was going to happen next. Fans of Tolkien, David Eddings, and Dungeons & Dragons should definitely check out this superbly written sword & sorcery tale. This is definitely going on my list of favorites!

View all my reviews

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s