The Dragon Round

The Dragon RoundThe Dragon Round by Stephen S. Power
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The Dragon Round is a fantasy adventure spanning the high seas and an elaborate world full of action. The main character, Jeryon, is captain of a merchant vessel and is left to the mercy of the sea after a contemptible mutiny perpetrated by his ships mates. Set adrift for days with the ship’s apothecary, Everlyn, he soon finds himself marooned on an island where he inadvertently stumbles upon a dragon’s nest. Here begins his chance at recompense for all his suffering as he seeks to train the young wyrmling. But fate has much more in store for him than the simple justice he originally craved…

I would first like to state that I received this free through NetGalley for an honest review. I typically don’t procrastinate so much when writing a review but I was very torn with regards to this particular story. I found myself really liking the book from the start. The characters were well defined and likeable, the plot fast-paced, and the action non-stop. There were numerous twists and turns within the storyline that keep the reader at the edge of their seat. The problem for me lies with the ending. It was shocking, to say the least, and rather abrupt but was left in such a way as to imply a sequel forthcoming. Truth be told, the last chapter had me so enraged I was screaming obscenities at my poor unassuming little Kindle. I would definitely like to see if the writer can drag the story back up out of the mire into which it fell with that last bit. Only time will tell. However, I must applaud Mr. Power for his ability to trigger an intense emotional response from the reader.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

