Shining Sea

Shining SeaShining Sea by Mimi Cross
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Shining Sea is a modern day fantasy/adventure geared toward young adults. The main character, Arion, struggles through coping with her sister’s accident and seemingly catatonic state while at the same time, moving across the country with her father. Uprooted and cast adrift in a new town, she catches the eye of two local young men – Logan, a boy coping with the death of his brother, and Bo, a home-schooled surfer with secrets aplenty. As Arion grows closer to each, she finds herself inexplicably drawn to Bo. But as she learns more about him, strange happenings surround her. Danger lurks as an unknown supernatural foe closes in on the two. But as the lines between good and evil start to blur, Arion begins to question everything – especially her feelings.

I would first like to state that I received this free through NetGalley for an honest review. This book was an emotional roller coaster ride with supernatural undertones throughout and tributes to Greek mythology. Despite the dark side of Bo – or maybe even because of it – I really liked him best in the story. Not everything is as simple as black and white, there are many shades of gray in between and the author captured it perfectly in this case. Although there were many issues I had pertaining to the relationship between the two, the chemistry felt very genuine. But in the long run, I am still incredulous with regards to the way things ended. I really hope this is continued in another book because it feels unfinished. All in all I did like the story, however.

View all my reviews

3 Comments Add yours

  1. bookgeeking says:

    great review: I have this book but not yet read it. might be bumped up my list after reading this 🙂

    Like

    1. It was definitely a good read. Not quite what I was expecting, but in a good way. Hope you like it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. bookgeeking says:

        Thanks I am looking forward to it 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

