Jem and the Holograms Volume 3: Dark Jem

Jem and the Holograms, Volume 3: Dark JemJem and the Holograms, Volume 3: Dark Jem by Kelly Thompson
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Jem and the Holograms Volume 3: Dark Jem is a graphic novel composed of comic books 11-16 in the series. The main character Jerrica aka Jem undergoes a sudden change in attitude, appearance, and singing style. Soon everyone who hears their music turns into an emotionless puppet, including the band members themselves. But just who is it pulling the strings? It seems that the problem is originating from within the Synergy hologram. Can Jem and her bandmates break away from the brainwashing long enough to fix the problem?

I would first like to state that I received this free through NetGalley for an honest review. I must admit I requested this title as I absolutely loved the Jem cartoon as a kid. I was a bit disappointed in some of the drastic changes to the characters and the story overall. Sure, I expected some changes to bring the show into the 21st century but this was a complete overhaul. The characters are barely recognizable. And what happened to Jem & the Holograms and the Mizfits being enemies? They were all friendly for the most part in this book. The rivalry was what kept it interesting in the tv series and the comics felt a bit boring without it. I did like the artwork overall, but I did have trouble reading some of the warped irregular text in places. I had to zoom way in just to be able to make out the words. All in all this was a decent reboot, I enjoyed reading it but it can’t hold a candle to the original.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

