Rochester: A Memoir

Rochester: A MemoirRochester: A Memoir by Cora Holmes
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Rochester: A Memoir is an engaging retelling of the classic Charlotte Bronte tale of Jane Eyre. Where previously, the story was narrated by the Quakerish governess herself, this is told entirely from the brooding perspective of Mr. Rochester. We get to see him forlorn, returning from the continent only to land at Jane Eyre’s feet both literally and figuratively. The narrative takes us through his innermost thought processes and offers a unique glimpse into his life both before and after meeting Jane.

I would first like to state that I received this through InstaFreebie for an honest review. That being said, I found this book wonderfully written and insightful. It is true that as a retelling it lacks some originality but is a great read and a wonderful companion novel to the original. There are a few minor storyline discrepancies but it did not detract from the story. I found myself unable to put it down much as I was with the original. For me, this filled in many storyline gaps and added a little more spice to the tale. This is a must read for anyone wanting more of Mr. Rochester and his sordid past. Well done!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

