Chimera

Chimera (Universe Eventual, #1)Chimera by N.J. Tanger
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Chimera is a futuristic sci-fi fantasy and the first book in the Universe Eventual series. Taking place entirely on and within orbit of another world, the main characters are all competing to be selected to travel to Earth to find out why the supply ships suddenly stopped approximately fifteen years earlier. The candidates are all teenagers as the younger generation are the only ones with enough genetic drift to wake and crew the Chimera (the ship that carried them to the new colony several generations prior). Add into the mix a murderer on the loose and the fact that before long the colony will run out of supplies and the stakes rise ever higher. Will they be able to wake the ship in time to save everyone they hold dear?

I got this book on Amazon some time ago as I love my sci-fi and space opera books dearly (I blame Star Wars). While at first the book seemed a little piecemeal as it frequently switched point of view, it did eventually come together. Once it did, I have to say I was rather impressed with the story. Seemingly unconnected parts of the plot ended up fitting together like a jigsaw puzzle. The character development was quite good; I’m still trying to make up my mind about Marcus. I’m hoping that more information comes to light regarding his past in the next book which is definitely on my agenda for the near future. All in all this was a good book with a very deeply involved storyline. Sci-fi fans should definitely give this one a try!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

