Invoke

InvokeInvoke by Michelle Hayes
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Invoke is a dark paranormal romance. The main character, Scarlett, is a medium who believed she had successfully locked away that part of herself. When she purchases a home to which she is inexplicably drawn and strange apparitions appear to her, she realizes she couldn’t have been more wrong. Enter the cocky and overprotective Aiden, the son of the contractor renovating her home, who eerily looks just like one of the spirits in her home. Sparks fly between the two even as dark energy manifests itself around them – growing stronger by the moment, permeating the house and grounds. Scarlett has unwittingly fallen right into the middle of a centuries old curse, one with deadly consequences. Can the evil lurking on the property be banished before it claims yet another life?

I just got this free on Amazon last night and thought I would give it a try. Something about this book just jumped right out and grabbed my attention, begging to be read. I am glad that I dove right into the story. What was initially going to be a couple chapters before bed quickly escalated to me blowing through the whole book to the final page in record time. I love a good ghost story and this did not disappoint. Granted there were quite a few typos and grammatical errors throughout but I enjoyed the storyline well enough to disregard them. The characters were well developed and the backstory to the plot was excellent – it was chock full of suspense and intrigue. I would highly recommend this book to fans of the genre.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

