Helios

Helios (Universe Eventual, #2)Helios by N.J. Tanger
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Helios is a futuristic sci-fi fantasy and the second book in the Universe Eventual series. In this nail-biting sequel, we get to see the young men and women we met in the first novel come into their own. The Chimera is finally awakened, the crew positions filled, and her voyage to Earth is imminent. The civil unrest of the colony continues unchecked and valuable resources are dwindling making their mission a priority. But what will they find on the other end of fractal space?

I would first like to state that I received this through NetGalley for an honest review. That being said, at first I really enjoyed this suspenseful sequel. The pace was steady, the action was top notch, and the character growth was done rather well for the most part. However, personally, I did not like the over-extreme plot twists toward the end. While this was well written and engaging, the ending could have been so much better. I truly hope that things turn around in the next book as I really have enjoyed this series so far. Let’s just say it’s going to require some major TLC to be applied to the storyline in order to get it back on target for me. Don’t get me wrong, this was a great story in its own right. It’s just difficult to explain without posting major spoilers. Trust me, it’s worth the read but if you are like me, it will leave you reeling at the end.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

