Magic Fire

Magic Fire (Shifting Magic #1)Magic Fire by Catherine Vale
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Magic Fire is an urban fantasy chock full of fae, shifters, warlocks, gargoyles, and just enough romance to keep you coming back for more. The main character, Kaye, is a powerful fae. After bumping into the hot and mysterious dragon shifter, Darius, she discovers that her peaceful little life is an illusion. With danger lurking around every corner – and a power even stronger than her own hunting her – she is forced to trust Darius. As loyalties are tested and secrets revealed, Kaye and Darius find themselves fighting for their very existence and for the undeniably intense attraction they have for one another. Can they survive the odds and the old prejudices of their world…?

First, I would like to state that I received an ARC copy of this for my honest review. That being said, I must confess this book was rather good. The synopsis did not do it justice. While the blurb did grab my attention, the book itself was just so much more than I was expecting. The characters were well written, the plot intense and action packed, and the pace steady from page one. In short, I could not put this one down. I have always loved the myths of the fae as well as that of animal shifters and Ms. Vale did not disappoint. She took the basics of myth and made it entirely her own. I for one, would heartily recommend this book to fans of the genre.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

